Chicken Marsala

Yesterday morning, I was motivated. I decided that I was going to treat myself better: start running again, eat healthier, and keep myself a little more organized. Well last night I made chicken marsala over linguini (carbs) with rustic homemade bread (more carbs) and brownies for dessert (the carb motherload). This morning, I didn’t run. It’s raining and cold and after I went grocery shopping I came home to retire for the evening to my pajamas and food blog. Good decisions, right?

Anyways, this chicken marsala is DELICIOUS. I put it with linguini al dente to make the perfect pasta dish that strays off of the traditional path. I’ve worked on a recipe and it did not take long for me to make it just the way I like. The best part? This takes right about thirty minutes and will impress the socks off of your guests (or your spouse!)

Ingredients:
3 chicken breasts, butterflied in halves (or even thirds)
8 oz. whole mushrooms, sliced thin
5 cloves chopped garlic, divided
1 tbsp. olive oil
5 tbsp. butter, divided
1/2 tsp. black pepper
1/2 cup flour, seasoned with salt, pepper, and garlic powder to taste
1 cup chicken broth
1/2 cup (plus a pour) of marsala cooking wine (you can find this with sauces at the grocery store)
3 tbsp. heavy whipping cream
1/2 pound linguini pasta, cooked al dente

Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat and with a tablespoon of olive oil. Add the mushrooms and three cloves of garlic and saute for several minutes until soft. Move the mushrooms out of the skillet and add 4 tbsp. of the butter to the hot skillet. Dredge the chicken in the seasoned flour and place it in the pan, letting it turn to a golden brown on both sides. Remove the chicken from the pan when it’s browned and add the mushrooms back, as well as the remaining 2 cloves of garlic. Add the chicken broth and marsala wine, and after it boils let it reduce uncovered for several minutes. Add the remaining tbsp. of butter, pepper, and heavy cream. After stirring, add the chicken to the pan and cover until everything is warm. Serve over the linguini and enjoy!

IMG_5001

Leave a comment